Craig Gregory Haines tragically lost his life in a service station robbery when fatally shot by an armed assailant on 24 October 1997, 3 days after his 20th birthday.

Craig had worked his way through the grades reaching A Grade with the Elizabeth District and Northern District Clubs and had represented South Australia at under age level. As a quick bowler, hard hitter and outstanding fielder, Craig was a much sought after player by other clubs and had attracted several lucrative offers.


Craig had a strong desire to stay with our club yet he also harboured a passion to experience cricket overseas. A cricket scholarship was negotiated to enable Craig to play with Prestatyn Cricket Club in Wales. In return, Craig committed to play with the club for at least the following 3 seasons, keeping other clubs at bay.


Craig had only been home for three weeks when tragedy struck.

In the lead-up to the 1st anniversary of Craig’s passing, the Craig Haines Memorial Trust was formed, with Merv Kowald, John McKay, Peter Thomas, Steve Oats, Craig’s father David Northcott and the Northern Districts Cricket Club as the inaugural trustees. Current trustees are David Northcott, Mave Northcott, David Militz, Andrew Perkins, Chelsea Duval and Matthew Wright.


One of the primary aims of the Trust is to raise funds to assist other players from the club experience a season of cricket overseas by way of a cricket scholarship of up to $1,500. To date, many players have been awarded cricket scholarships.


In addition to the scholarships, the Trust has assisted approximately 140 players who have represented South Australia at underage or women’s level, juniors travelling interstate on representative duties or country players in need of financial assistance to play at a higher level with amounts ranging from $50 to $500.

The sum of $5,000 was contributed to the club to assist with the establishment of the indoor training facility at St. Jays Recreation Centre and $1,000 was donated to St Columba College to assist establish practice wickets in the memory of yet another promising cricketer, Josh Ahern. In the past, the trust has also provided the club with $3,000 to assist with the purchase of new clothing for players.


To raise funds, the Trust holds an annual Sportsman’s Night. Previously, we have enjoyed hearing from guest speakers such as a number of high profiled sports men and women, both local and interstate, with a large majority giving their services free of charge.


The Trust is honored to have a large number of donors and sponsors of the event, many of who have supported the Trust since its inception.



  2016 recipient Tyson Bray




Sportsman’s Night Guest Speakers

Andrew Jarman
Chris Dittmar
Greg Blewett
James Brayshaw
Chris McDermott


John Cahill
Darren Lehmann
Jason Gillespie
John Platten
Tim Ginever


Neil Fuller
Michelle Den Dekker
Matthew Bode
Andrew Sincock
Mark Cosgrove


Gillian Rolton
Michael Abbott
Laurie Argent
Rudi Mandemaker
Kieran Sporn


Sally Causby
Carmel Bakurski
Shane Bond
Troy Bond
Mark Higgs


Tim Weatherald
Steve Bradbury

Andrew Jarman
Darren Jarman

Roger Wills
James Gowans
Chris Gowans
Daniel Healy
Paul Thomas

Barry Robran
Terry Jenner

Max Walker

Phil Smyth

Chris Dittmar

Les Burdett
Peter Walsh